Covid-19 information regarding EU and Germany

02.07.2020 - Article

Temporary restrictions on non-essential travel into the EU as of July 2, 2020.

Information poster on coronavirus at Hamburg airport
Information on coronavirus at Hamburg airport© Bodo Marks/dpa

The recommendation by the Council of the European Union dated 30.06.2020 on the gradual lifting of the temporary restrictions on non-essential travel into the EU was implemented by Germany with effect from 02.07.2020 as follows:

Travel from EU Member-States, Iceland, Norway, Switzerland, Liechtenstein and the UK as well as a small list of countries which fulfill certain criteria pertaining to the development of the COVID-situation as well as reciprocity aspects is no longer restricted or the restrictions have been eased. This list of countries is to be regularly updated. The question of whether travel to Germany is permitted depends on where the person travelling has previously been staying, not on their nationality.

Given the COVID-situation in South Africa, Lesotho and Eswatini, these countries currently do not belong to the list of countries, where travel restrictions could be eased.

However, travellers coming from these three countries may be allowed entry under certain conditions, such as for example essential employment as expert workers, sailors, workers in the health sector, permanent residents in Germany, family members of German or EU cizizens, diplomats and others. German citizens are always allowed entry.

For details, please see the website of the Federal Foreign Office: Coronavirus and entry restrictions: 6 things travellers to Germany need to know

Frequently asked questions can be found here.

People entering the Federal Republic of Germany from a risk area are required to stay in quarantine for 14 days. More Information can be found here.

The German Embassy and the Consulate General are aware that South African Authorities currently require from their own nationals who want to leave the country a 

“…  Proof that confirms your admissibility in the form of a letter from the embassy or other diplomatic / consular representative of your country of normal residence, confirming your right of residence in that country and that you are permitted to return thereto under the current circumstances.  If returning by road or connecting flights, the proof submitted to us needs to include each transiting countries permission for your travel.”

Please note that the German Missions abroad are not in a position to issue such letters of admissibility. However, for serving the purpose, you may find the confirmation useful, which you can download here.

Top of page